A Livestreaming Experiment to Inspire Fans to Become Patrons

Livestreaming has historically been the single most reliable ways I’ve found to turn strangers into fans into patrons (even more so than in-person live shows :scream_cat:).

TL;DR --> I’m experimenting with using Crowdcast to livestream to all platforms so I can create a funnel which moves people from stranger to fan to Patron in one place.

NOTE: A quick ‘about me’ for context --> I’m primarily a singer-songwriter (guitar, vocals, ukulele, originals, covers), though I’m doing more of my podcast and poetry too these days. I have been livestreaming on and off since around 2012, though never very consistently. My first patrons came directly from livestreaming, and almost every time I stream on Periscope (my biggest following), a patron or two will pledge.

My biggest frustration with livestreaming: none of the platforms are well -or at all- integrated with Patreon

My main needs are

1. easy to set up patron-only livestreams
  2. getting people to click links to pledge while I’m streaming or after
  3. an interface which encourages great community building and ongoing engagement (Q&A, Polls, bringing guests on screen, etc).

ENTER CROWDCAST!
It’s expensive but BY FAR the most useful from my perspective.
Follow me on Crowdcast to join the experiment!

HERE’S THE EXPERIMENT:

1. Use Crowdcast as my primary Livestreaming Hub.
    - I control the data, it’s a super robust tool, they aren’t selling our info to advertisers
  2. Do monthly patron-only ‘public’ livestreams on Crowdcast
    - this is a beta feature where I can create a public link to a Crowdcast stream and then when someone registers they have to connect their patreon account to prove they’re a patron…or become a patron to get access
  3. Share regular non-patron-only public livestreams on Crowdcast which will automatically multi-stream to fbook page, periscope and youtube.