Any other patreon musicians who also play live shows?

I am a touring artist with a Patreon, and have been asking Patreon for years to create some kind of on-the-spot, real world way for audience members to become patrons. I mention Patreon from the stage and have even tried giving away free merch to new patrons, but I find that the mobile signup process is too cumbersome to get many people to sign up during the show.

My favorite solution is a “text-to-patron” system similar to what some podcasts use when asking listeners to become sustaining donors (eg: “to support us on a regular basis, text “radiolab” to 55-66”). This would allow the audience to seamlessly join patreon and support me (and theoretically, would grow the patron base, making it easier to support other creators too).

I am wondering if other live performing creators would find this useful, and if so, whether we can band together to make this a higher priority for the development team.

EDIT: if you like this idea you can “heart” it in the feature request thread here: What's your biggest Patreon pain point?

8 Likes

I tried using Patreon for live shows. Turned out impractical. It’s not a ‘buy now’ service. It’s a long-term one imho.

Fans who pay a monthly fee really want to be there. Not sure they would with a quick subscription.

Or more to the point, I have not figured out how to turn it into a point-of-sale. And I also feel like it might canabilize merch sales.

2 Likes

This has been a thorn in our side (team Amanda Palmer) for years. We’ve spent a lot of money and time on this - and I know first hand from talking to other creators (even outside of music) that this is a pain point for them too. Lots of creators have IRL events - concerts, conferences, cons, etc. where they have tables and booths and signs and are trying to get folks to sign up.