Encouraging more patrons as a fantasy writer of short stories

I suppose the title is self-explanatory, but here we go anyway!

I’ve been using Patreon for about 7 months now to support my writing habit. I write fantasy books, and it’s so hard to get them to sell, so I figured that writing short stories was a good way to try to increase potential readers’ trust; short little stories to read for free in 5-10 minutes is a much easier way to test the waters of a new writer than parting with money for a whole book.

I’ve been very fortunate to have gotten 5 wonderful patrons, 4 of whom have been with me since I started. But I’m a little lost with how to find more.

Among other things, I write one short story every month and give £3 patrons 2 weeks’ early access, then share it publicly 2 weeks later and unlock the posts. I really enjoy writing them (stupidly enjoy it, I swear, it shouldn’t be legal), so it doesn’t feel like work at all…but…I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want to get my Patreon some more attention. But I have no idea how. I’m really not sure what I could offer to draw people in (and I worry that I may end up drawing people in with a promotion and then losing them when they get whatever I’m offering).

Any suggestions are appreciated!

5 Likes

Welcome and congrats on having gotten some patrons already! I’m also a fantasy author (and illustrator/jeweller) so fully understand your frustration in trying to get your books to sell. The phrase ‘it’s a marathon, not a sprint’ is definitely applicable to developing a following of readers! It’s also true of Patreon (it took me over a year to get my first patron). I’ve also been considering writing short stories just for patreon.