Looking for someone to "patronage" (feature idea)

Moin,

I have been playing around with this idea for a couple of years, should I build my own platform, can I find something that offers the context …

Quite often I would like to find someone who could teach me / introduce me into a topic I am currently interested in. In a way, mentoring me for a few hours, days, weeks - whatever. Online courses with pre-recorded videos on whatever streaming platform often don’t really do it, for once you never know what you actually will get (if the teaching style works for you, if you can get the information out that you are looking for) - plus you pay for a fixed, premade material that may well be outdated even on the teacher’s side.

I would love to be able to browse Patreon “by category” (say: create visual arts, play an instrument, compose music, write texts, research a historic epoche / area, learn about black smithery, understand quantum physics, talk to dinosaurs etc) and then click on a button “show patrons who are available for mentorships”. Then I could “apply” for, say, 3 months of “mentoring” and have access to “inner circles of whisdom and pizza”.
Sure, there are ways to get this - to some degree - by using a search engine, I know. But a centralized, organized, moderated and curated place is … in my experience: better. More convenient. More reliable. If there is some fundamental QA (which certain “online teaching services” lack, so that it’s basically playing lottery to invest in education on such platforms), this might be both a welcome service to people who want to learn - and Patreon as a service provider.

Thoughts? Feedback? Critics? Tear it up, it’s just an idea :slight_smile:

Marc

1 Like