New Logo Is Too Simplified

While I enjoy the new look of the Patreon site I must say the new logo is quite horrendous. A line and a circle, snore! The previous logo had already grown quite iconic and had a beautifully unique style that said “Patreon”.

The new logo looks so generic and simplified I’ve seen a large number of twitter posts mimicking the shift of logos with other brands by simplifying them to basic shapes.

I’m not sure if my words will carry to anyone that has the power to do something about this but is in my and many other’s opinion that the logo should go back to how it was prior to the latest style update.

1 Like

I do somewhat like the elegance of the expanded versions (the Patreon and the bar - Patreon |) but I do agree that I’m not overly fond of the new one. The last one definitely had an iconic air, while this one doesn’t feel very distinctive, and the color palette seems harder to use effectively.

This is my personal opinion:

I am not an artist. I haven’t got the slightest flair of art in me. I do not understand art.
To me signs/icons/graphical language is a form of communication, not identification (I do not feel any emotional disagreement with a big yellow double swing “M”).

Therefor a sign/logo/icon has to transport information, if I am to consider it useful/good/helpful/appealing.

What does a redish block with a bar and a circle tell me? Simple: Nothing. I don’t read “Patreon” in there. I do not see any logic, any sense, any meaning at all in it. This is not a critique, it is simply stating the fact that this “logo” is telling me nothing, I can not recognize it, I do not see any meaningful content in it.

I don’t mind it being used. But I do not identify the logo with the company or their service, because there is nothing in the logo to be identifyable. I could use a triangle and a zig zag line and pretend “that’s the new Patreon logo” and it would probably mean just as much to me.