Recommendations for Print on Demand Services?

Hi Everyone,

I’m an illustrator, looking to generate extra income via prints and possibly other merch. I wondered if any fellow visual artists have any recommendations for print on demand sites. If there were any that I could also use to offer patron discounts (however that might work), then that would be great.

Thanks!

Gareth.

1 Like

There are so, so many of those around the web now! I use Redbubble, they have printing centers in various places around the world and I like their quality. It’s also a fairly simple process to upload prints for various merch (you can upload a single image once, and optionally differently formatted images for some products). In contrast, I also have a Society6 shop but their process is so much more complicated and time-consuming (upload separately for each and every product) it’s not worth my time. They’re also US-based so as a UK resident I pay import taxes on anything I buy from society6 (so I don’t anymore) whereas that doesn’t happen with Redbubble, and that keeps me a buyer there. I used to be on Cafepress but they’re shite, and Zazzle is an incomprehensible mess. I would also advise against opening more than one shop for the same products, it’s just too much work and confusing for your followers. Consolidate so you have only one URL to share, and your income is not split.

5 Likes

Thank you, @joumana. I’ve used Society6 and Zazzle, and agree on both your observations. Thanks for the tip regarding Redbubble - I’ll check it out.

Actually, since I posted, I’ve found The Abundant Artist, which is a site with info regarding how to sell online: They actually have a spreadsheet reviewing all the current PoD sites:

There’s a free sign up to access the info. Also see this video, which talks you through the spreadsheet:

Right, I’m off to investigate… :slight_smile:

3 Likes