What does independence mean to you as a creator?

Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting in the community, so thanks for having me! My name is Matt and I help write and edit the blog on Patreon. Hopefully I get the chance to meet all of you in the future :slight_smile:

I’m posting to ask your opinion about a blog article we’re posting next month. As many of you know, the celebration of America’s Independence day is right around the corner.

We want to write about Independence day, but with a Patreon twist — we want to write about what independence means to creators, no matter where they are in the world.

So, my question is — as a creator, what does independence mean to you? How does independence fit into your life as a creator? Do you have creative goals around independence, for example having creative freedom over your works? Also, we’re curious if Patreon has impacted your creativity in a way that makes you more independent as a creator?

If that question strikes a chord with ya, please leave a comment below! I’m going to forward these comments to one of our writers, who will try to use some of them in a blog post, either as general inspiration or attributed to your name.

Thanks for reading and for welcoming me to this space!

4 Likes

Excited to see the responses to this this, following along! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi, Matt, great to emeet you :wink:.

To me, independence means being able to live and speak my truth, without having to compromise or answer to a potentially domineering interest whose goals would differ to mine (record label, etc).

My songs, stories and podcast are deep and sincere explorations of what it means to be human. Independence means being able to go as deep -and sometimes dark- as I need and, on some days, fly so high that I see the whole picture (and occasionally burst into flame :sunflower:).

It means to show up fully raw, real and vulnerable.